Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessica tutors in Montréal, Canada

Jessica R.

Private tutor in Montréal, Canada

Jessica R.51

1 review

Education

PhD (in progress) - History and Classical Studies, McGill University MA - South Asian Studies, 2015, Columbia University Certificate - Labour Studies, 2012, CUNY Certificate - Hindi Language, 2013 and 2014, AIIS Jaipur Certificate - Marathi Language, 2016, AIIS Pune BA - History, 2010, New College of Florida

Experience

I have many years of experience as both a tutor and a teacher, which includes working with students with disabilities, behavioural issues, language barriers, or students who are just in need of targeted attention and encouragement. As a PhD student, I currently do broadly comparative work in addition to my focus on the history of modern and colonial India. This means that I have a strong foundation in many areas of the humanities and social sciences. Tutoring and teaching outside of my research area has kept me sharp on other subjects as well and I have successfully tutored students in math and science up to a 8th grade level. Working as an assistant instructor at elite universities has given me the perspective of someone who evaluates college-level work and I am ideally suited to prepare students for college entrance exams, application essays, and college coursework. I aspire to be a university professor with a compassionate approach to higher education, which I believe starts with an understanding of educational benchmarks at all levels. My approach to my students strives to balance their potential and interest to learn more with the practical goals of a given assignment, course, or degree. My question is always, how can I help my students attain the passion for knowledge that they want while keeping in mind the benchmarks and qualifications that they need? Tutoring experience: Varsity Tutors (in person tutoring in New York City with students grades 2-9, subjects included math, science, history, writing, literature); Office for Students with Disabilities, Columbia University (tutoring, scribing, and research assistance for graduate students with developmental and physical disabilities, subjects included public health, social work, epidemiology); Shakti Stambh Women's Shelter, Jaipur (teaching English as a second language to women and children living in a domestic violence shelter); Volunteer tutoring, Carwise Middle School, Palm Harbor, Florida (subjects included math, science, and reading) Teaching experience: Teaching Assistant, McGill University (History of Modern India, Intro to African Studies, History of Modern Africa, Modern Europe) SAT score (2006): 1330 ACT score (2006): 33 GRE Reading: 98th percentile Languages: Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, German, Russian, French, Urdu Coursework areas: Research focus on South Asian and British history with broad training in all regional histories and geographies; linguistic pedagogy; several years spent as a literature major in college with a sustained interest in world and western literatures; Asian religions; American history and labour history

Subject Expertise

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I love to travel and my favourite places in the world are the College Street book market in Calcutta, Chowpatty Beach in Mumbai, New York's Lower East Side, and the Mojave Desert. I grew up in the northeastern United States and moved to Florida when I was a teenager. I spent my college years working for artists in Sarasota and working for museums and I have a sustained interest in art and public education. I currently freelance as a figure model for the Montreal Art Centre in Griffintown. I moved to New York City in 2012, where I worked for the labour movement and I am currently a labour union activist at McGill. I try to balance my work on South Asian history and languages with my earnest desire to learn more about Francophone culture and history in Quebec. I love yoga and winter hiking with my dog, Bailey. I can usually be found riding my bike, shopping for used books, and trying to learn three languages at once!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!